Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Turkey, Corn, and Bean Soup

on November 4, 2011

To start off this post, I just want to say that this is my 100th POST!  Yay!!  How cool is that?!  So to celebrate, I’m going to bring out a new recipe that I made up today–Turkey, Corn and Bean Soup (creative name, I know, lol).  Basically I was trying to use up some stuff I had in the pantry and it has been getting pretty chilly and felt like it should be a soup night.  This was super easy, I threw it together on my lunch hour, put it in my crock pot, and let it go all day so it was done when I got home.  The best part?  It’s pretty healthy!  Let me know what you think!

Turkey, Corn, and Bean Soup

1 package frozen corn

1 can beans, drained and rinsed (can be navy beans, pinto beans, black beans, etc)

2 cups cooked turkey, chopped  (I used smoked turkey that had been given to us)

1 quart turkey/chicken stock (I used homemade)

2 teaspoons Garlic salt

1 tablespoon Onion powder

1/2 teaspoon Parsley flakes

1 teaspoon Cumin

Pepper, to taste

Add all ingredients to crockpot, with the seasonings to taste (I’ll put about what I used).  Turn crockpot on to low heat and let go for 6-7 hours.

 

This should freeze really well, and would be nice for a quick lunch during the work week.  I plan on freezing it in one serving containers so that I can just take out a meal at a time.

Leave a Reply

