Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

glitter, Glitter, GLITTER!!!

on October 30, 2011

Crappy phone pic--just imagine the beautiful colors and the SPARKLE!

I don’t know about you…but I am a serious lover of all things that glitter.   So when I came across some glitter magnets on Pinterest I knew I would be making them, and soon!  I mean, come ON, I had just gotten a new 12 pack of glitter!!!

So I read the tutorial that the Pin links to, but I’ll admit I didn’t follow it, so I’ll just tell you how I did it.  It looks like a perfectly wonderful tutorial, but my rocks that I had didnt’ show the glitter through the stone, so I had to improvise.  (I apparently did not get any pictures of me making these awesome glittery things, so you’ll just have to imagine it and email me if you have any questions.  My bad.)

Get a bag of clear rocks from the Dollar Tree.  Or I guess it doesn’t even have to be clear if you follow my directions lol!!  So get some of those rocks.  And get some awesome glitter in some fantabulous colors.  You will also need modge podge, a foam brush, magnet circles, and hot glue (if your magnets aren’t self adhesive).  I also sprayed mine with a coat of acrylic spray, but that’s totally optional.

Now, I will warn you in advance….the glitter in this project?  Yeah, it’s going to get EVERYWHERE!  So do it outside.  Or you can do it in your living room like I did, but don’t be surprised if you are still seeing glitter two weeks later.  My bad, C, my bad, but I personally think his jeans look MUCH better with that purple glitter on them :-).  There is a reason they call glitter the ‘herpes’ of crafting supplies.  You touch that shiz once and you can’t get rid of it, and you’re just going to spread the love, man.

Sooooo, all you have to do is this.  Take a rock, spread some modge podge on it, preferably the side that is NOT flat, since you will want the flat side to be where your magnet goes.  Then, cover the modge podge in glitter.  You COULD roll it in some glitter that you put out on paper or a bowl or something, but it will sparkle more if you just shake it on.  I dunno…something about it doesn’t compact it, so there are more ‘edges’ to glitter.   So just keep shaking it until it’s covered, then, DON’T pour off the excess!  Let it sit overnight before you do so that you get maximum stickage (yeah, I said it).   Repeat with all of your other rocks, doing one color per sheet.

 The next day (or like, 8 hours later) shake off all the excess glitter.  Put all of the rocks together on one sheet of paper or newspaper and spray it with a layer of acrylic spray.  Let that dry completely.

Crappy phone pic--just imagine the beautiful colors and the SPARKLE!

Turn the magenets over and either a) take the sticker cover off the back of your circle magnet and stick on or b) hot glue your circle magnet on.  Then you are all done!  LOVE THEM!

So sparkly and gorgeous!  And they look FANTASTIC on the magnet boards that we have done.  Helllooooo awesome stocking stuffer!!

But that’s not all that I did!!  I pinned this pin on Pinterest. (say that 5 times fast!!) Thumbtacks?!  Heck yes!  I was already on a roll and covered in glitter, so why the heck not?! 

Get some thumbtacks (Dollar Tree, holla!) Dip it in some modge podge, and roll in glitter, yes I rolled, no glitter edges, but what the hey, I wasn’t shaking glitter on 100 sideways thumbtacks, but that’s just me.  I went ahead and sprayed them with the acrylic spray too.  I think they turned out just B-E-A-UUUU-TIFUL!  So if I know you and you get a Christmas gift from me…expect something that sparkles this year.  I just can’t help it.

Leave a Reply

