Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

2×4 Mummy

on October 27, 2011

Well hello there!  Back with a super quick craft today in time for Halloween!  How crazy is it that it’s almost here?!  I’m running out of days that Halloween crafts are ok to post.  This is one that I saw on Pinterest somewhere, but came up with my own instructions.  All you need is a scrap piece of 2×4, white tissue paper, glue, and a few paint colors.

First, take your scrap piece of 2×4 and paint it white and let it dry.  I didn’t paint the whole piece white this time, because you don’t see it, but I do think it helps the mummy look better overall.  His color is more even if you do.  Ok, so paint him white, then paint a strip across the top black.  Let that dry.  Add white circles for his eyes.  I took the top of my paint bottle, applied some white paint and stamped it on there, twisting a bit.  It turned out kind of ‘rough’, which is what I was going for since I know I can’t draw a perfect circle to save my life lol.  Let that dry.  Add a smaller black circle inside your white circle, or if you are like me, add one drop of paint from your bottle and let it settle into a circle.  I like how some of the black paint shows through the white, for a kind of crackled effect. 

Once all of your paint is dry, take some glue (elmer’s is fine) and spread it over one end of the 2×4.  You don’t need a whole lot, but enough that your tissue will stick.  Add a layer of streamer.  Repeat it on the bottom of your wood.  I like to do this so that I don’t have to worry too much about covering the entire top, it can be kind of tricky.  This is what ‘streamers’ look like, if you aren’t sure what I’m talking about.  You can find them at the party supply store, Walmart, Dollar Tree, pretty much anywhere you find decorations.  It’s usually about a dollar.

Then just start wrapping!  Make sure you can’t see the wood through your streamer, which shouldn’t be an issue since it’s a little harder to get a board covered than what you think!  If your streamer breaks, just dab a dot of glue and press the end of the tissue down and do the same for your new starting piece.

All wrapped up!!  Isn’t he cute?  But, if you’ve seen mummies lately, they aren’t usually totally white and clean.  He needs to get kinda dirty. So, take a stamp pad of brown ink and ‘smudge’ him a bit.  Don’t go crazy, but just add a bit here and there.  If you don’t have a stamp pad, you can put a bit of brown paint on a paper towel or your fingers and do it that way.

There we go!  Now he is ready for trick or treating, or ya know, sitting on your mantle or something.  Just make sure he isn’t in a place he will get wet since it would probably disintegrate his paper.  Happy Halloween!!!!

Leave a Reply

