Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Baked French Fries

on October 10, 2011

Finally, another food post!!  Sorry it’s been so long, but I was just too excited about the projects I’ve been working on to share anything else!!!  So today I thought I would share an old favorite of mine.  I’ve been making these ever since C and I got married and I just love them!  You can make them as thick or thin as you’d like, season them with whatever you have on hand, and they aren’t super greasy since they aren’t fried!!

I am a fry girl at heart.  I like them all!  Skinny shoestrings, curly, steak, regular fries (like from McDonalds! 😉 ), sweet potato, etc.  But we all know that we really shouldn’t be eating a fried side at every meal, no matter how good they are!  Plus, buying a lot of oil for frying can get expensive and it makes a mess.   Make these for a nice change of pace.  You’ll love them!

 

Baked French Fries

Potatoes, I’d say 2-3 potatoes per person, but I like leftovers 🙂

Vegetable oil

Seasonings (you can season with whatever you like, or have on hand, suggestions: creole, garlic salt, seasoning salt, etc)

Salt and pepper

 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Wash potatoes.  Peel and slice into thin sticks, trying to make sure they are all about the same size.  As you chop them, drop them into a bowl full of cold water.  This will make them crisper on the outside, but still have that soft inside like normal fries.  Let them soak for about 15 minutes.

Drain the potatoes and pat dry with a towel.  Add a teaspoon or so of vegetable oil (olive oil or EVOO would work just as well) and toss to coat.  Lay them out on a baking sheet and then sprinkle with your seasonings.  Give them a stir and season the other sides.  Make sure that you don’t put too many on a baking sheet.  You want a single layer, not a mound.  Get another cookie sheet if you have too many, it will be worth the extra dishes :-).

Put them in the oven and bake for about 30 minutes.  Take them out and flip the fries over.  Put them back in the oven for another 25-30 minutes, or until they are brown.  Normally I take one out and try it.  You want to make sure that they are soft on the inside and don’t have that ‘starchy’ taste.  Take them out and serve!!!  YUM!  These are also really good on hot hamburgers. 

shown with fried catfish, which will hopefully be posted next!

One response to “Baked French Fries

  1. kel101 says:

    Girl I would eat french fries all day if Kota (and my figure) would let me!

Leave a Reply

