Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Glittering Pumpkins

on September 23, 2011

First of all, I want to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my hubby!!  The big 2-5….man, we’re getting old!!  And yes, your OSU tickets are still your only birthday presents from me :-).

 

Aren’t those pretty?!  This picture does not even do them justice (sorry, more phone pics)!  These glittering pumpkins are another craft booth idea that I thought I’d share.  I had seen them in Hob Lob for like $8 for a little one! OMG, I don’t think so!!!  I knew I could make them a lot cheaper, so I did. 🙂 I think I will use these as a vase filler when I start decorating for fall.  The bigger ones are actually ceramic and I think they were a little easier to do than the foamy plastic ones.  Here’s what I did:

Gather your supplies.  You will need Mod Podge, glitter in whatever color you’d like, a paintbrush, and pumpkins.  I got this set of 5 at the Dollar Tree.  They were a little harder to do than the bigger ones you see above because they were so small, but they all turned out great!

Take your pumpkin and mod podge all over it with your paintbrush.  Then just start shakin!  The glitter will get EVERYWHERE but as long as you work over a newspaper or something, it will keep most of the mess contained to that area.  Then you can reuse the glitter that fell off.

Keep shaking until your entire pumpkin is covered, then carefully pick it up and move to a place to dry.  Then voila!  Glittering pumpkins!!  Can you imagine how pretty these would be next to a flickering candle?  Gorg.  And the glitter cost me about 75 cents and I still have a third of it left after all of these, so with the pumpkins being from 20 cents apiece to $1 apiece, you’ve got $8 (or more!) pumpkins for less than $2!!!

Leave a Reply

