Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Gummi Turtles and a Baby Shower Food Wrap Up

on August 31, 2011
 

 Ok, so I had made these gummies before, but they did NOT turn out the way they were supposed to.  I totally followed all the directions, and yes, I paused when they said to add SIX packages of unflavored gelatin, but, since they were the recipe writers and not me, I went ahead and did it.  They were so rubbery I think if I would have thrown one it would have kept bouncing until it got to California!  When I tried them this time, it only called for two and thankfully they turned out great!  They were chewy without being hard, but soft enough that my two year old niece could eat them without any problems.  I made them in turtle candy molds, which I purchased on Ebay for just a few dollars each, and made them in blue and green.  You can change the jello flavor to match your colors.

http://pinterest.com/pin/108600942/  That’s there pic.  Ours looked this this ;-).

We also had chocolate dipped marshmallows.  I actually would have liked to use dark chocolate, but only had white chocolate on hand, then I dipped them in blue, green, and chocolate sprinkles.  Easy.  Cheap.  Delicious.

B cut out shapes on green construction paper and made all of the platters ‘turtles’ then we added some googly eyes. They turned out so cute!

I also made the German Chocolate Brownie Bites, but used white chocolate instead of dark.  Don’t worry, they were still realllllly good 🙂

We didn’t get any pictures, but we also did little centerpieces kind of like these.  But unfortunately, I was convinced that we could mix blue and green jellos and add a little extra blue food coloring and it would be fine.  WRONG.  It was, uh, very green.  I had put some of the gummi turtles in the middle and you could not see them at all, so we threw a few more on the top, too.  We just pretended the turtles were swimming in a pond.  You don’t find oceans in Kansas anyway, lol.

 

 

Also, per the mommy to be’s instructions, we had WHITE cake with buttercreme icing that I airbrushed blue and then added little cake toppers that I made.  (if you want the files I used, email me) 

 And that’s it for the food!  I will probably do one more baby shower post, on the games and decorations and everything, then we’ll move on to some more jam recipes :-).  I can’t help it, I’m obsessed.  But I think you’ll like it….Koolaid Jelly.  Oh yeah!

One response to “Gummi Turtles and a Baby Shower Food Wrap Up

  1. […] One of the things that I wanted to incorporate were the glass bowls from the turtle ponds from the baby shower last month, because really, who needs 8 of them?  I didn’t get any pictures of the completed […]

Leave a Reply

