Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Baked Crab Ragoons

on August 29, 2011

In trying to come up with a menu for the shower, I realized that most of the things that I had come up with were sweet.  Hmm, not such a bad thing for me since I love sweets, but I knew some people would want something other than sugar!   I put out some Chex Mix in a bowl (LOVE that stuff!!) and then we had these.  Baked Crab Ragoons.  I needed something that I could make ahead and that wouldn’t take a lot of time to finish up at the shower.  So I made these earlier in the week, froze them, then popped them straight from the freezer onto a cookie sheet and baked them for about 15 minutes when people started to arrive.  They crisped up nicely and were hot for our guests!  Next time, I think I will set out some sweet and sour sauce for people to dip it in, but otherwise, I think these were a hit!

As far as the filling goes, you omit anything you don’t like, add stuff that you do (I think crushed pineapple would be yummy in it!) and at home I probably would have added more garlic, but that’s just personal preference.

Baked Crab Ragoons

2 blocks cream cheese, softened (8 oz each)

1 tablespoon prepared minced garlic

1/4 cup diced green onions

1/2 teaspoon seasoning salt

1 tablespoon Worchestershire sauce

1/2 cup shredded cheddar or mozzarella cheese

Salt and pepper, to taste

48 wonton wrappers

Combine all the ingredients except the wonton wrappers in the bowl of a mixer and mix until completely incorporated.  Take a wonton wrapper (keeping all those you aren’t using covered, they dry out really quickly), brush some water all over it, put a teaspoon full of filling it the middle and close it up, making sure to seal the edges well.  Lay on cookie sheet.  Repeat with remaining wonton wrappers.

You can either put the sheet pan in the freezer until they are frozen, then layer them in a tupperware or in a ziploc and keep in the freezer until ready to use, or put them into a 400 degree F oven for about 10-12 minutes, until golden brown.  If cooking from frozen they will go about 15 minutes.  I usually let them sit for a few minutes before eating so that the filling isn’t so hot it burns your mouth off.

Leave a Reply

