Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Italian Style Enchiladas

on August 23, 2011

I took a picture of the picture in the magazine with my phone, to give you a visual

Italian and Enchiladas.  Not something you hear in the same sentence together, let alone the same recipe!  I have to say though, it’s pretty darn good!  My mom made this this weekend and was nice enough to let me post the recipe here.  Instead of using lasagna noodles, you use tortillas.  I personally like the taste a lot better, no hard/chewy noodles, just soft tortillas.  It’s easier to serve, because I don’t k now about you, but when I try to dish up lasagna, part of it comes out, but never the whole thing and then you end up with a big mess on your plate!

Using tortillas is also a cheaper option.  I know the lasagna noodles at our store are over $2 (and it never fits the pan you are cooking in…that ticks me off!) and a whole bag of tortillas are $1.79!  Seriously, you just need to make this.  The filling is almost sweet with the addition of the cream cheese.  And even if you don’t like black olives or mushrooms, you could easily leave them out and it would still be good.  I’m sure my mom didn’t use fresh parsley, she might have thrown a few shakes from a bottle in, and it was still delish and that’s fine!  I think I might try this with ground turkey or chicken, because I like them better than ground beef.  Or even shredded chicken would be good!!  YUMMY.

Italian Style Enchiladas (from Sandra Lee Semi-Homemade)

12 white corn tortillas (we used flour)

1 1/4 lbs lean ground beef

1 container (8 oz) sliced mushrooms, finely chopped

1 packet (1 oz) onion soup mix

1 tablespoon chopped fresh flat leaf parsley

salt and pepper

1 1/4 cups ricotta cheese

1 can (4.5 oz) chopped black olives

4 oz. cream cheese, softened

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 9×13 inch baking dish with cooking spray; set aside.

2. In a large skillet, brown ground beef, stirring frequently to break into small pieces.  Stir in mushrooms and onion soup mix; cook for 4 minutes more.  Remove from heat.  Stir in 1 tablespoon chopped parsley and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Set aside to cool.

3. In a large bowl, stir together ricotta, olives, and cream cheese.  Stir in beef mixture until well combined.  Spread 1 cup of pasta sauce in bottom of prepared dish.  Spoon meat and cheese mixture evenly down centers of tortillas.  Carefully roll up tortillas and place on sauce in baking dish.  Pour remaining pasta sauce over enchiladas.  Sprinkle mozzarella and Parmesan over top.  Cover tightly with aluminum foil.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 35 to 45 minutes or until enchiladas are tender.  Garnish with additional parsley.

One response to “Italian Style Enchiladas

  1. kel101 says:

    Gotta love good ole Sandra Lee! And of course Ma! We talked about it when I was home last weekend, I’m glad it turned out good!

Leave a Reply

