Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Oven Roasted Broccoli

on August 22, 2011

This recipe is to kind of go along with the baked chicken recipe I did last week.  This is what I would usually serve as a side when I would make it and it’s so easy it isn’t really a ‘recipe’ more of a method :-).  You could do it with cauliflower or carrots, too, or I’m sure a lot of other veggies I can’t think of right now lol.  I really like this because it’s healthy and very fresh.  The lemon juice kind of adds a zing that I really enjoy and I’m sure you will too!  This is also something I do when I have some broccoli in the fridge that is about to go bad.

First take some fresh broccoli…heads?  I don’t really know what you call them, so we will just call them trees.  Yep, broccoli trees.  You want to use fresh broccoli instead of frozen because I don’t think frozen would give you the texture you’d want.   Wash your trees under cold water and drain them for a few minutes.  Cut off all of the little florets at the top.  You can either cut right below the floret, or a little farther down on the stem, which I do.  I like the little bit of extra crunch it gives them.  As you cut them up, throw them in a bowl. 

When you’re all done, drizzle a few teaspoons of olive oil over the top, followed by some sprinkles of garlic salt or powder (the more the better in my opinion 🙂  ), a little salt (but not much if you used garlic salt instead of powder), a little pepper and a splash of lemon juice.  Toss that all together and spread out on a baking sheet.  Throw that in a 425 degree preheated oven and let it bake for about 40-45 minutes.  This will depend a little on how big or small you cut your broccoli and how much you are using.  I usually do two ‘trees’ for three of us, but we really like broccoli.  Basically roast them until they are fork tender, which means you can stab them with a fork without any real resistance.

Take them out of the oven and serve!

2 responses to “Oven Roasted Broccoli

  1. Judy says:

    Try sprinkling with chopped garlic at the end of baking time, then tossing the broccoli with some lemon zest and lemon juice before serving. Really yum.

Leave a Reply

