Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

on August 15, 2011

(My camera has apparently bit the dust, so until I can get a new one, there won’t be any new photos.  Sorry 😦  )

I first made a version of these bacon wrapped jalapeno poppers after seeing them in a cookbook.  It looked yummy and since I am a spicy food lover, I knew these were going to be good, I just didn’t realize how GOOD!  I have tweaked the recipe a bit from when I first started, but the best thing about this recipe is that you can customize it to your own tastes or what you have on hand in your fridge.  I like the pineapple in the cream cheese, but you may want to skip it, and that’s perfectly fine!  Just try it, seriously.  Everytime I take these to a cookout or potluck, they are gone so fast I’m lucky if I even get one.  I’m going to give you a basic run down of how I do it, but like I said, you can pretty much take it from there.  I think  one of the best things about this appetizer is that since you are baking them, some of the heat comes out, so people who don’t normally like really hot things can enjoy them, too.  Sure, some of them will still be hot, but it all depends on the jalapenos you use.

Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

16 jalapenos

1 block (8 oz) cream cheese, softened

1 small can of crushed pineapple, drained

Garlic (salt, minced, powder, whatever you have), to taste

3 green onions, diced

seasoning salt, to taste

1 lb uncooked bacon (don’t get the thick kind for this, you want it to be thin enough to cook all the way through)

Apricot jelly (or peach, grape, apple or strawberry jelly)

BBQ sauce

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

Take jalapenos and cut in half lengthwise.  Scrape out membrane and all the seeds, but leave the stem on so that your filling won’t run out the top.  You might need to rinse them when you are done to get all the extra seeds off.  Set aside.

In the bowl of your mixer, add softened cream cheese, drained pineapple, garlic, diced onions, and seasoning salt.  Mix on low until completely combined.  Set aside.

Take your pound of bacon and cut the whole pound into thirds lengthwise. I—I—I  like that.

Ok, to assemble your poppers,  take a jalapeno half, spoon some cream cheese filling into it.  You want it to be full, but not so full that it is all just going to run out as it cooks.  Just mound it a little :-).  Take a slice of bacon and wrap it around the jalapeno, making sure to cover the cream cheese as much as you can.  You can either use a toothpick to secure the bacon, or just wrap it so that the bacon ends are under the jalapenos.  Place on a wax paper lined cookie sheet (just trust me on that one…you’ll thank me when it’s time to do the dishes!), close, but not touching each other.  Repeat until you have used all of your poppers. Place in oven and bake for 30 minutes or so.

In a small bowl, combine a few spoonfuls of your jam with enough BBQ sauce to make it the consistency of thick syrup. Take your poppers out of the oven. Using a pastry brush, brush some of the jam mixture on each of the poppers and return it to the oven for another 30-45 minutes, or until the bacon is crispy and cooked all the way through.

Remove from the oven and let sit for 5 minutes, because if you don’t and try to eat one right out of the oven, you will think you have bit down into a lava filled jalapeno and your tongue will be so burned you will want to cry.  Just an fyi, there.  Plate them up and serve!!

What’s your go to appetizer for a BBQ or picnic?

9 responses to “Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

  1. kel101 says:

    Smy boyfriend absolutely loves this recipe and was actually just asking me to make it the other day! We have tried it with all different types of fillings from fruit to meat and it’s all good. This is a definite try for sure!

  2. kel101 says:

    My bf has asked me to do this with some habanero peppers…comments??

    • jackatessa says:

      My comment?? You’d be cryin’ because they’d be so hot!! Maybe chop up a habanero and put in the filling? OUCH. I like hot but that makes my mouth hurt thinking about it! Let me know what you do and how it turns out!

  3. My older grandkids would LOVE these.

  4. kel101 says:

    Well he insists that cooking them that longs takes out all the heat. He thinks that when they are done they would taste like a fresh jalapeno. He’s also asked me to do this with serranos but they are so small I don’t really want to mess with them.

    • jackatessa says:

      Yeah, small peppers would take ALOT of time. I will share my jalapeno popper dip soon…maybe you could sub out the jalapenos for the serranos? That way he can still get the heat he wants and you don’t have to be slavin’ in the kitchen for too long!

  5. kel101 says:

    So I made this recipe tonight and as always it was good. However, I have always had a problem with the bacon. It doesn’t ever seem to get crispy or cooked through…I don’t know what I’m doing wrong.

Leave a Reply

