Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Cantaloupe Jam

on August 12, 2011

This Cantaloupe Jam recipe makes a very pretty, flavorful jam.  It was fun to make and smelled incredible while it was cooking!  Personally, since there is so much other fruit included with the cantaloupe, I would have called in Tropical Jam or something, but it was good regardless!  Everyone is always interested in it at the farmers market and when I tell them what all is in it, they usually buy a jar :-).  This is something I will definitely make again!!  I found this recipe on a food board, but do not have the direct link. 

One thing I will mention is that you will need to have a pretty big pot to stir this in, I used one that I thought was big enough and had to scoop some out once it started bowling and put another, smaller pot on because it was so full.  Let me know if you make this and how it turns out!

Cantaloupe Jam

2 large cantaloupes, peeled and cut into pieces

2 lemons, juiced

2 oranges, juiced and rinds

1 can pineapple tidbits, drained

sugar, the same amount as fruit

1 small bottle maraschino cherries

Combine all ingredients except cherries.  Cook over low heat until thick, about 1 1/2 hours.  Quarter cherries and add the last 15 minutes of cooking time.  To test for doneness, take a spoonful of jam and place it in the freezer for a few minutes.  If it is thick, it is done.  Immediately lade into hot, sterile jars and seal.

This makes a chunky jam/topping depending on how large your pieces of cantaloupe are.

**  I processed mine in a hot water bath for 5 minutes.  Also, to get the correct amount  of sugar, I added all of my fruit to the blender and pulsed it a bit, then just used the measurements on the side of my blender.

Leave a Reply

