Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Shrimp, Bacon and Mushroom Pasta

on August 10, 2011

(I will try to get a picture posted soon)

Just rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it? lol  This is probaby one of my favorite pasta recipes that I make and definitely a favorite of my sister, B’s, recipes of mine!  This is the going away meal she got when she was headed off to college.  Last summer, while C was deployed, B would spend most of her days over at my house, watching the dogs and cleaning (I know, how did I ever let her leave!?  It’s not my fault, I tried to get her to stay and she wouldn’t!)   This comes together super easy and is pretty impressive if I do say so myself.  You can substitute any ingredients you have on hand, it’s totally customizable.  Normally I just open the fridge and see what I can throw in there.  B really likes it when I put broccoli in it, so if you want to do that, just add it in with your pasta water the last five minutes or so.  Make this tonight and impress your friends or family with your mad skills, then laugh and tell them how easy it is.

Shrimp, Bacon and Mushroom Pasta

1 onion, sliced

1/2 lb. bacon, diced into small pieces

1 can of mushrooms, drained, but reserve the juice

1 small can of condensed cream of mushroom soup

1 cup milk

1 lb. already cooked shrimp, deveined and tail removed

2 tablespoons Vegetable oil

Creole seasoning, to taste

Salt and pepper, to taste

Get a pot of water boiling for your pasta.  While you wait for it to boil, add your chopped up bacon to a hot skillet and cook it until brown and crispy.  Remove to a paper towel lined plate.  Add your veggie oil, then your onions and drained mushrooms.   Season with the creole seasoning. Cook those until the onions are translucent and your mushrooms have some color. 

Your water should be boiling now, so add your pasta and stir.  Cook them until they are done, or are no longer chewy when you taste a noodle.  Drain and set aside.

Add the can of soup to your skillet and stir to combine the onions and mushrooms.  Add your reserved mushroom juice and milk, a little at a time, until it is just thinner than what you’d like it to be.  Then simmer until it is thick enough to coat the back of the spoon, then run your finger down the back of the spoon.  If you can still see the line after three seconds, it’s good to go!  If not, simmer a bit longer until it does.

Right before serving, add the shrimp and bacon.  Stir to combine.  Then either pour over your pasta or add pasta to your skillet.  Serve with grated parmesan cheese (not gonna lie, I use the canned stuff) and salt and pepper.  If you are feeling really daring, add some crushed red pepper flakes for a little extra heat.  Enjoy!

4 responses to “Shrimp, Bacon and Mushroom Pasta

  1. kel101 says:

    This is a very good base recipe! I like the tidbit about the sauce coating the spoon 🙂 Plus, you can change the cream of soup flavor to whatever protein/vegetable you are going to use!

  2. jackatessa says:

    Yes you can!! I had it with cream of pepper jack (I don’t know if that’s the real name, but it’s with all the other soups) and it was soooo good!! I really like spicy though, so the more the better!!

  3. Judy Croslin says:

    This sounds delicious! I’ll have practically puree the onions and mushrooms though, because if Michael knows they’re in there, he won’t touch it. But what he doesn’t know wont hurt him! Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

