Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Cantaloupe Butter

on July 29, 2011

This past weekend after church, my dad gave me like, 8 cantaloupes. 8!!  I didn’t know what I was going to do with them, but I just said ‘ sweet, Dad, thanks!’ and went about my business, figuring I could give em away or what have you.  Well fast forward three days and those babies had ripened up nicely and made my ENTIRE house smell like cantaloupe, like, sickly sweet, where are all these fruit flies coming from, absolute fog of cantaloupe, so I knew I had to get them used up or toss em before I barfed.

So it was to trusty ol’ google, looking for some cool recipes.  This first one that I will share with you, which was part of the bunch of jars I showed you last night, is for Cantaloupe Butter.  It was really easy to put together and then you just let it cook down until you like the consistency.  I used one medium sized cantaloupe to get the 4 cups you need, after it’s pureed.  And be sure you puree it smooth, since it’s supposed to be ‘butter’ and not ‘jam’.   I am taking this to the farmer’s markets for sure this weekend, and hopefully it will be a good seller.

Cantaloupe Butter

6 lb soft, ripe cantaloupes

1 1/2 cups sugar

juice of  1 lemon (I didn’t have a lemon, so I used like two capfuls of lemon juice)

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Remove the seeds of the cantaloupes and scoop out the edible portion of te pulp.  Dice the fruit coarsely and simmer, uncovered, in a preserving kettle (pot) until tender; or puree the pulp in a blender.  Measure the pulp; there should be 4 cups.  Return pulp to the preserving kettle and add the sugar, lemon juice, and nutmeg. Cook the mixture uncovered over medium heat, stirring constantly, until the butter is thick enough to spread, about 1 1/2 hours.  Ladle into hot, sterilized jars and seal immediately.

I was able to get 4 of the jars that are half the half pint size (maybe 8 oz? not sure)

It came out creamy and smooth and oh so good.  You might be tempted to skip the nutmeg (Iwas), but don’t!  It really helps balance out the sweetness.  I was sooo surprised how easy this was.  It definitely didnt’ take me an hour and a half for it to cook down, more like 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

