Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Pinterest? What the heck is that?!

on July 10, 2011

Ok, so I have been talking about Pinterest for a few weeks and thought I would explain a bit more.  I really didn’t understand it until I joined, and now I LOVE it!!

Basically you request an invitation, or have someone send you one, and make your account.  Then you add Pinterest to your favorites tool bar so that when you are surfing the web, if you come across a picture or an idea that you like, you can ‘Pin it’ by clicking on the favorites link.  That will bring up another little page so that you can select which picture on the page it is that you want to pin, since a lot of times there are more than one picture on a page.  After you pick which picture, you can add a description and file it into a category that they have premade, or you can make a new category. This also adds it to your boards and will notify any of your ‘followers’.

Your followers are people who have chosen to follow you because they like your pins.  Every time you pin something, it shows up on their screen, and if they pin it, too, then all of their followers can see it and pin it too and so on and so on.  You can also follow other people and the same concept will happen.

I have used that many times a day every since I started it and have found awesome ideas and recipes and I’m sure you will find something good, too!!  I know I can easily spend an hour pinning things!!

They can link it to your facebook or twitter, too, so that if you find something cool you can post it on your profile.

Let me know if you’d like an invite!!

 

Leave a Reply

