Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Squash Candy

on July 9, 2011

Yeah, that title caught my eye, too.  When I saw it, I knew I would have to make it.  How would one get something sweet from a vegetable??  Crazy!  I saw the idea originally on Pinterest, with the original blog post and idea from Collecting the Moments.  She has a really good tutorial on how to make these, so just click on the link and check it out.

I didn’t have any of the invisible koolaid, so I used a pineapple colada packet and it worked just fine.  Also, be sure that your cubed zucchini is all uniform in size or it will dehydrate in different amounts of time and burn.  Also, be sure not to put too much powdered sugar in when you are shaking it or it’ll make a big mess when you are trying to eat it.  Just trust me on that one, lol ;-).

Overall, this was a pretty yummy way to use up some zucchini, almost like a cross between a dehydrated banana and dehydrated mangoes or apricot.  Pretty good!!  I tried to upload a picture and couldn’t get it to work, so just click over to see what they look like!  Let me know how they turn out if you try them.

 

Leave a Reply

