Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Blueberry Lemon Cake w/ Lemony Blueberry Glaze

on July 6, 2011

So my father in law’s birthday was last week and when I asked him what he wanted for his birthday, he told me blueberry cake….hmmm, I think I can handle that!  So I started searching online for a recipe for a blueberry cake that wouldn’t be so sweet, since he doesn’t care that much for sweets, but that had a lot of blueberry flavor.  I found this recipe and thought it would be perfect.  I normally don’t make cakes from scratch becauser I just don’t think they taste as good as cake mixes, plus I like the consistency of using a mix…I KNOW it’s going to taste good!

I used a bag of frozen blueberries and used just regular 2% milk and it worked just fine.  For the glaze, I cooked the blueberries and lemon juice down a little and let it cool before adding the powdered sugar.  I also added a teaspoon of almond extract and it was extra yummy.

Even though the cake is a little extra work and dirties a few extra bowls, it is definitely worth the effort and I will be making this again.  I’m sure you can substitute different berries and it will be equally good.

Thank goodness this cake made two layers so that I was able to keep one at our house….it literally did not make it an entire day and it was gone lol!! It makes for a super delicious breakfast, too.  This recipe is definitely a keeper.

Leave a Reply

