Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Cantaloupe Preserves

on July 4, 2011

Here’s a quick recipe I thought I’d share in case you had cantaloupe coming out of your garden already and didn’t know what to do with it all.  I’ll be honest and say that my first batch of this tasted really good but was looser than I’d like, so when I make it again I will boil it longer and hope it sets up better.  But that’s ok that it was loose!  It’s almost like cantaloupe syrup or even a cantaloupe dressing the way it is now.  My aunt told me about this and so I googled the recipe but didn’t find one that I liked, so I took the different recipes and combined them and this is what I came up with.  I’ll update after I make it again.

Cantaloupe Preserves

5 cups cantaloupe, cubed

4 cups sugar

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 packet liquid pectin

1/2 teaspoon butter or margarine

Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan, bring to a boil and simmer until fruit is clear.

Puree in a blender if needed (I just mashed it with a potatomasher as it cooked).  Ladle into prepared jars.  Process in a hot water bath for 10 minutes.  Allow to cool for 24 hours before storing in your pantry.

Makes eight 1/2 pint jars.

Leave a Reply

