Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Uncle Sam

on June 29, 2011

I figure I had better get my 4th of July decoration idea up before the 4th is over!!  Here he is….Uncle Sam!!

Isn’t he cute!?  I saw the idea on Pinterest where someone had pinned it out of a magazine and I LOVED it!  I knew right away that I wanted to make him for my MIL’s 3rd of July party she has every year, so I filed him away.  He was super easy to make, even for someone like me who is NOT artistic and can’t draw worth a poot. Hope you give him a try, I posted him on facebook too and everyone loved it!

Here’s what I did….

I walked around Lowe’s looking for pieces I could use, knowing I needed a post or something for the body, a small square for him to stand on, a small square for the brim of his hat and another square/rectangle for the top of his hat. 

At first I thought that I would use a porch rail/banister, but when I got to looking at those and saw they were about $30 each I changed my mind!! lol  So I just wandered and found a table leg that would work and was only $5.95!  The other square pieces were found right there with them and they were either 88 cents or $1.88, so altogether I spent about $10 on the supplies.  I had paint and the foam for his beard on hand.

I started by painting him, using the picture online as a guide.  After they had dried I hammered his body onto the red square and then hammered the blue square at the top of his head and the last striped rectangle I stood on end and used wood glue to attach it.  I just regular super glue to attach the craft foam beard I had drawn. 

After I had finished that, my Uncle Sam looked like this:

(please excuse the messy table, it was a busy week lol)

Eh, not bad, but not quite what I had in mind.  I think since I had used the table leg instead of the banister he made a little less of an impact than I wanted.  So A, mom’s bf, suggested we made a couple easy additions…arms!

I bougth a 3/4 inch dowel and we cut it to be 10 inches long and I painted those.  A then drilled 3/4 inch holes on either side of his body about an inch or two in so that the dowels would go in.  Then he drilled a small hold into the dowel at the end and we stuck the flags in it!!  Perfect!  I love how he turned out and can’t wait to showcase him at the party.  Until then he is sitting on my front porch welcoming the mail man every day 😉

I’m pretty much in love with him and giggle like an idiot everytime I see him.  I’d say that was $10 well spent!!  Let me know if you make one and how he turns out.

Leave a Reply

