Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Weekend Recap

on June 28, 2011

My weekend started out…..busy lol.  I had a cake that I was asked to make for a surprise 25th wedding anniversary and it was to be delivered Friday night.  I had never made a cake like this one, with pillars and roses, so I was pretty nervous.  I stayed up reallllly late on Thursday night trying to do the roses….those suckers are a lot harder than they look!!  Since I didn’t know how to make them, I just googled “how to make buttercreme roses” and watched a few videos.  I understood it and everything, but when I tried to do it, my icing was too warm and too thin, so I added some powdered sugar and tried again.  It just wasn’t working for me very well and the roses that I did manage to get right, starting ‘wilting’ aka melting almost immediately.  So I regrouped, put it all in the fridge and walked away for half an hour, came back and knocked a couple out.  It was such a pretty cake and I’m so glad that I made it.  Actually the lady the party was for is a cake decorator too, so there was a lot of pressure!!  But here she is….

The legs look a little wonky but I promise they were straight in person :o).  After I delivered the cake I came home, made dinner and we went out to a friend’s house who is going back to Jville since his leave is up.

Saturday morning I was up bright and early and over at my mom’s to paint!  She has a huge 5 bedroom house that had been getting pretty run down since my step dad died almost two years ago.  She works twelve hour shifts from 6 pm to 6 am, so there really wasn’t a whole lot of time for her to do anything, but since she has started seeing A, who is a handyman, he has made it his personal mission to get things back in shape around there lol!!  I’m excited for her because she is about to have an empty nest and at least now she will have a pretty nest! So the first morning from like 8 to noon was spent caulking and priming over holes, new siding, etc.  It was HOT!  I think it got to 100 degrees before we were done and I was literally dripping in sweat.  Disgusting. With all the time I’ve spent outside this summer, I’ve got to say that I think I have never sweated more in a summer, ever.

I had a birthday party that night and then C and I headed to Bville to watch a rodeo that his parent’s CBR bulls were bucking in.  There weren’t a whole lot of people there actually, which surprised me since it’s a bigger town and cowboys all around the place, but oh well!  I was also really surprised at how the rodeo handlers, ya know, the boys in the back in the corrals, didn’t seem like they really knew what they were doing.  It could have been that since it wasn’t a CBR Event, but just a regular rodeo, that the handlers weren’t used to bulls that bucked like that, but I have never been so nervous at a rodeo in my life!!  I watched three guys get bucked ass over elbows back in the pens because they weren’t watching close enough.  Those bulls are NOT something to be messing around with either, 1800 lbs of muscle and horns can kill your ass in half a second.  There was also a cowboy that got knocked out, a couple of bulls that just would NOT go back into the pens from the arena and tried to gore the horses that the handlers were riding and one poor barrel racing horse that had been left in the pen.  I’m tellin’ ya, BAD.  Normally it’s not that bad so I really don’t know what was going on or why it just affected me differently this time.  Needless to say, we got home pretty late from that, too.

Then it was back to my mom’s at 8 am on Sunday morning too!  I put the first coat of paint on mom’s house, a pretty tannish yellow color.  My mom was working on pulling vines and A was priming the really high parts of the house ( I don’t do ladders) so I ended up doing that coat all by myself.  I never realized how big our house was when I was growing up lol, but I guess with six girls (well seven counting mom) you’ve got to have lots of room.  I’ve got two more coats to do and then it will be all done!  I am just so excited for mom for it to be done!

After painting, I came home and made some of the kiwi jalapeno jam and finished up my Uncle Sam project, which I will hopefully show you soon, sewed a couple of skirts from a fun tutorial I found (I’ll show you that, too),  and then the boring stuff like laundry, dishes, cleaning, etc to get ready for the week.

All in all, it was a super busy but a super fun and productive weekend!!  How was yours?

Leave a Reply

