Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Cantaloupe Pie…Seriously!!

on June 23, 2011

Cantaloupe Pie, I know, it sounds crazy weird but trust me, you have never tasted anything like it!!  My mom actually found this recipe in a newsletter when I lived out in Jville and my sister, S, was living with me, and she sent it to us in an email saying how weird it was.  Well of course I HAD to try it!!  The process is kind of weird (or I thought so at the time) but it’s basically making a custard out of the cantaloupe pulp and then topping it with meringue.  Anything with meringue is pretty much awesome in my book!!

I usually pull this baby out when I am trying to impress someone because everyone likes it and everyone just thinks you are, like, so awesome for thinking of something so crazy but that is so obviously yummy!  We also took this into work when we lived in Jville and worked at Arby’s to try to win over one of the managers because she was totally intimidating and scary….and it WORKED!  She pretty much took the entire thing and wouldn’t share!  She was also a lot nicer to us after that 😉 so I’d say it was a success.

I usually use store bought pie shells because it’s easier, but if you have a really good recipe, go ahead and use it!  One tip though…after you’ve put the meringue on the crust and baked it, be sure to let it cool completely before you refrigerate it or when you take it out it will have ‘sweated’ and then it won’t be as good or as pretty.  Just trust me on that one.  Let me know how you like it!!

 

Cantaloupe Pie

1 medium size cantaloupe

3/4 C plus 12 Tablespoons sugar

8 Tablespoons flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 eggs, separated, plus 3 egg whites

2 Tablespoons water

1 Tablespoon butter or margarine

2 baked pie shells (I use frozen)

Cut cantaloupe in half; remove seed and scoop out pulp.  Place pump in a saucepan over medium heat until it comes to a gentle boil.  As it heats, mash pump with a potato masher or liquefy in a blender before heating (I use a potato masher and it works just fine.  I also leave a few chunks in mine because I like the texture)

In a bowl, mix 3/4 cup sugar, flour, and salt, blending well; add to heated pulp and stir until thickened.  Do not cook pulp too long before adding flour mixture.

Beat egg yolks; add water, then add to pulp mixture and cook until thick and creamy.  Remove from heat; add butter.  Pour mixture into pie shells.

For Meringue:

Beat egg whites on high speed for 10 seconds, then add the twelve tablespoons sugar and beat on high until the consistency of whipped cream.  Spread over filling, making sure to completely seal the edges.  Bake in a 450 degree oven until the top of the meringue is delicately browned (about 4 minutes, watch it closely!!).  May be served warm or cold.

 

Leave a Reply

