Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Newspaper Giftbag

on June 22, 2011

So I was browsing Pinterest the other day and came across a really cool pin about using old newspapers to make giftbags.  How cool is that?!  Or at least I thought it was so I repinned it and went on.  Well my boss is gone for the rest of the week, which means I have a lot of down time when I would normally be trying to look busy that I could do whatever at work (don’t worry, all my work is done!) so I brought in some newspapers out of my car and tried it!  Here is the tutorial that they pinned. It was pretty easy to follow, I only got stuck a couple times because I read the directions wrong.  It took me maybe ten minutes to do and that was me reading then rereading everything so it wouldn’t mess up.  I used some old file folders that I would have thrown away for the cardstock pieces and used some old broken rubber bands (I know, I can’t throw ANYTHING away lol! You never know when you might need it!) for the handles, but I think next time I will use ribbon or string so they would be longer.  Here is my bag:

 

I LOVE IT!  I didn’t really worry too much about the pictures that were on the outside since this was a trial run, but there are just sooo many different things in a newspaper, you can find something that would work.  It is smaller than I thought it was going to be, but I’m sure you could just double, triple, etc the dimensions and get the same effect.  I don’t think I will ever buy another giftbag as long as I can do this instead! 

Now, please excuse me as I saw a pin about using old calendars to make giftbags too……I’ll post that too if it works 😉

Leave a Reply

