Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Mango Pineapple Jam

on June 13, 2011

So my mom, sister and I stopped and picked up some fresh produce from a guy in a truck that sells it  (we know him, so it’s not like some creeper or anything lol).  We got a fresh pineapple and some mangoes (for 25 cents each!) and I started thinking of what all I could do with them.  The thing I kept coming back to was some kind of jam with the two mixed together.  Sounds good!!  So this is what I came up with, it’s almost like a chutney more than a jam to me, but whatever it is, it turned out delicious!  I canned one jar of it but just refrigerated the rest of it and gave it away in small jars so that it could be eaten in the next week or two.  Let me know what you think!!

Mango Pineapple Jam

1 pineapple, cut into small chunks (I’m sure you could use a can of crushed pineapple, drained really well)

2 mangoes, cut into small pieces

2 cups sugar

1 box of powdered pectin

After you have all of your fruit cleaned and cut up, put it into a medium saucepan over high heat,  Add the box of pectin and stir and continue cooking until it comes to a boil.  When it does, add the two cups of sugar and bring back to a full rolling boil.  Let boil for one minute.  Remove from heat and either put into jars and process or pour into a heat safe bowl and let cool down and then store in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

