Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Bread and Butter Radish Pickles

on June 12, 2011

We have been crazy busy around here with parties and weddings and I haven’t posted in WAY too long (booo me).  I tried a few reallly yummy things the past week or two and thought I would share a couple super simple recipes.

The first one is for Bread and Butter Radish Pickles.  I don’t know about you, but it seems like the first thing that everyone’s garden is producing first is RADISHES!  I used to dislike them because they were super bitey and gross, but apparently they just weren’t all the way ripe.  Radishes are light and crispy and delicious and I have a newfound love of them, so when I saw this recipe in a Rachael Ray magazine, I knew I had to make it!!  It is sooo easy to put together, I know I will be making these all the time now.  The liquid literally took less than five minutes and once you slice the radishes, you just have to let them sit for 30 minutes…..pretty easy!  So here it is…

Bread-and-Butter Radish Pickles (as seen in Rachael Ray magazine)

Makes about 1 cup

Slice 7 radishes 1/4 inch thick.  In a strainer placed over a bowl, toss the radishes with 2 teaspoons salt, refrigerate for 30 minutes.  Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, heat 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons white vinegar,3 tablespoons sugar, 2 smashed garlic cloves, 1 teaspoon yellow mustard seeds and 1/2 teaspoon celery seeds over medium heat, stirring until the sugar has dissolved, about 3 minutes; remove from the heat.  Stir in the radishes, then transfer the mixture to a small bowl; cover and refrigerate 24 hours.  Strain and serve.

 

I’m sure that you could also can these so that they wouldn’t have to be refrigerated, but since it is only 7 radishes it’s not like there are a ton of them.  They are sooo good!  Hopefully you can get a bag of radishes (I think my store has them for like 69 cents) and give them a try!!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

