Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Easter Wreath

on April 25, 2011

Hello again!  So I am back and I have pictures to prove it!  I know it’s a little after the fact now, but is definitely something to keep on file for next year as this was super cute and a total hit with family and friends.  I even brought it to work and hung it in the office!  Really cheap and really fast, this entire thing probably took less than ten minutes.  And the best thing about it?  It kinda smelled like marshmallows.  I don’t know why….but it did 😉 and it made me love it all the more!

Here’s how I made my Easter Wreath and the supplies you’ll need:

1 wreath form, I think it was like 8″ in diameter (I got mine at Dollar Tree)

1 package of easter grass (preferably a kind that smells like marshmallows   :-P)

Decorative eggs…I found these pretty sparkly ones at Dollar Tree, but you could use regular plastic eggs, you might just need a bigger wreath so it’ll look right

Ribbon

Hot Glue

Ok so basically I opened up the package of Easter grass and fluffed it up.  Then I took my hot glue gun and just put some squiggles (is squiggles a word?) of glue and took a handful of grass and smooshed it onto the glue, holding it until it held. 

Then I’d repeat this until I had enough grass on there that I could put some hot glue on the inside of the ring and I would just drag some of the excess grass from the top of the wreath over.  It worked really well and covered all that needed covering.  One thing I wish I had done was wrap the wreath itself in lime green ribbon, just so it would match better, but it turned out totally awesome anyway!

After I had covered the entire wreath, adding some glue and re-squishing grass as needed to cover any holes, I took my Easter eggs and removed the ribbon from the bottom (I’m pretty sure they were supposed to hang on a tree or something) and hot glued those around the wreath.

 

After that, the only thing left to do was tie a piece of pretty ribbon around it and hang it!  I actually just tied a regular strip and attached a bow I made with a little dab of hot glue. 

I love how it turned out and I ended up making three this year…one for me, one for my sister and one for my husband’s granny.  Actually an interesting fact about mine and my sister’s….since we live about an hour from the nearest Dollar Tree, I tried to buy another wreath form at the local Dollar General with no luck, so I bought a pool noodle and cut it in half, and then cut that half in half.  So basically I had half of a tube, it looked like a semi circle and I just angled the ends and hot glued those together.  It looked like an Easter egg!  It worked just as well as the store bought wreath form and it was a quarter of the price (the noodle was $1, but I could make four out of it!)  I love that this wreath can be made out of whatever color easter grass you want and it just looks so pretty and shimmery when the sunlight hits it.  Enjoy!!

**Another Easter wreath to follow!

***I don’t know why the pictures are sideways…I can’t get them to turn and am pretty ticked at it.  I will try again later!  Just cock your head to the side…it totally looks the same lol!

Leave a Reply

