Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Yummy Breakfast Burritos

on April 1, 2011

I made some breakfast burritos this week so that C and I would have something to eat that a) would be really yummy and b) that I wouldn’t have to wake up at 6 a.m. to cook.  C leaves before I wake up (usually!) and he would just not eat anything if there wasn’t something handy, so I knew I needed to come up with other options.  I told him I was going to make a pan of breakfast burritos at the beginning of the week and we could eat on it for a few days and I’d freeze what was left.  His only request?  That it be reallly cheesy….and not hunks of cheese but cheese all throughout.

ummmm ok.  I think I can handle that!  So I browned up some bacon and added some onions the last few minutes.  I also cut up half a block of velveeta and melted it in the microwave.  When that came out, I added the bacon/onions to it.  Then I took a big pan and added some oil and put in my eggs.  While they were still runny I added the already melted cheese and let that finish cooking, then wrapped them up in tortiallas. 

The result?  Burritos that are soft and very cheesy and don’t fall apart/out when you eat them (I hate that!).  C was very pleased!  He said they were “Just like McDonalds!” lol, C approved.  I might make another batch just to freeze so we can have them on hand.  What are some things that you make for breakfast on the go?

Leave a Reply

