Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Appliques

on March 24, 2011

I just thought I’d show you a couple of cute little things I did last night.  I didn’t want to start on a whole project since it was getting pretty late, but wanted to keep my hands busy.  These took less than 15 minutes each and I love them!  I think I will put them on either a cute little blanket or a hat. 

I have been making these little hats and have made some flowers and hearts to put on them, but what about boys?  I didn’t have anything that I could put on a hat that would be appropriate for a little boy, so I started googling!  I found this cute little number…..

Mr. Octopus

The color in this picture is kind of weird, but I made it in lime green.  It turned out sooo cute!  I can’t wait until I make a little hat for it.  It will probably have to be toddler sized, because I used a pretty big hook on this and it was a little bigger than I thought it’d be.  Next time I will use a smaller hook and it’ll fit better. 

While I was looking for those I found this and just couldn’t resist….

Cupcake!

I love anything cupcake so I knew I’d love this!  I can see this even appliqued onto a onesie….totally adorable!  And just think of all the different variations you can do just by substituting the colors.  My next cupcake venture is to make a little baby hat that’s a cupcake, but I think I’ll need more yarn before I can attempt that.

While I was looking for boy things I came across a few more I can’t wait to try….a peace sign, a toy car, and a hoot owl are next on the agenda!  I’ll let you know when they are done!

http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com/directory/appliques.php  This is where I found my patterns.  Lots of cute ones!!

Leave a Reply

