Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Bird Seed Treats!

on March 3, 2011

So this is another little crafty thing that I decided to make from my list of fun stuff to make.  They were super easy and took literally less than five minutes to finish (which was good because we were supposed to be leaving for a party in 10!)  I used a heart cookie cutter because it was the first big one that I could find, but you could do it in any shape you wanted! 

I didn’t manage to get a picture of the finished product, but they were super cute!  I gave a few away as gifts and everyone just LOVED them, so it was definitely worth the five minutes it took and the sticky hands it gave me!  I had bird seed EVERYWHERE!  Here is the link to the recipe that I used  http://smilemonsters.blogspot.com/2011/01/bird-treats.html . 

 I got a bag of birdseed at WalMart for only $1.37 and it dind’t even put a dent in it, so this is definitely an inexpensive gift.  I wrapped one up in some cellophane and tied a matching ribbon on with a little tag that said “Since you are stuck at home sick, you may as well be able to watch the birds!”  She loved it!  Sometimes I think that giving gifts that aren’t edible are definitely the way to go.  I didn’t know much about what this person likes to eat or drink or what they are allergic to or if they are diabetic, etc, so I wanted to take her a non food item. 

This would be a fun thing to do with little kids.  I will do this again with my niece, A,  to hand out at Easter time to the ladies at church.  They would love that!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

