Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Snow!

on February 1, 2011

So in case you haven’t heard….it’s snowing here in the Midwest!  Like, a lot of snow…like, 9 inches of snow!  Basically the whole town is shut down for the day…except my work.  Yep, I drove my crappy little neon down here in the snow, almost didn’t make it into the parking lot, then when the snow drifts were halfway up the side of my car, I called my husband to inform him that my car was stuck at work and that he needed to come get me for lunch.  So it looks like my car will be living here at work until the snow melts enough for me to get it out.  So I guess that means that I will also have a chauffer until we can get it out, too…and that sounds like a good idea to me!  He can be the one to get out and start warming up the truck and clean the windshield, etc.  YAY!  All I have to do is make it to the truck without busting my big fat fanny on the sidewalk….I think I can do that!  So in honor of all this snow and all the lucky people that got to stay home today, here is a recipe for Snow Ice Cream that I got online…I am hoping to make some!  Tell me how it is!  I’m thinking I would love to have some yummy almond or chocolate flavored…or even chocolate almond! YUM! Happy Snow Day!

 

Snow Ice Cream Recipe #2
1 c. Half & Half
1/2 c. sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
dash of salt
5 c. of fresh, clean snow

Combine all ingredients and enjoy!!

It also said this. “You can experiment with other extracts like almond, mint and other flavors.
Or you can use orange, lime or lemon extracts for a “sherbet”.
To make ice cream even creamier add 1/2 of a mashed banana or mashed mango or other fruit you enjoy for another way to flavor this delicious concoction. “

 

**Recipe source: http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art38570.asp 

**Photo from http://images.search.yahoo.com/images/view?back=http%3A%2F%2Fimages.search.yahoo.com%2Fsearch%2Fimages%3Fp%3Dsnow%2Bice%2Bcream%2Bflavors%26ei%3DUTF-8%26fr%3Dyfp-t-312%26fr2%3Dtab-web&w=1600&h=1200&imgurl=2.bp.blogspot.com%2F_rmjZDo_R76A%2FTL7xZ722HNI%2FAAAAAAAAAC0%2F9fA6UTj0Us0%2Fs1600%2Fhcoutdoors%2B015.jpg&rurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.hcoutdoors.com%2F2010%2F10%2Fdelicious-ice-cream-recipe.html&size=154KB&name=ice+cream+treat+…&p=snow+ice+cream+flavors&oid=fe8eab74d73b2b44cfb35cbf78fd4229&fr2=tab-web&no=7&tt=3100&sigr=1214j2fbf&sigi=12r1gcdk5&sigb=137u2jtgo&.crumb=iSIzEpPSvKI

Leave a Reply

