Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Brown Sugar Scrub

on January 31, 2011

Ok, so one of my best friend’s birthday is tomorrow and being the wonderful friend that I am, I hadn’t gotten her anything yet.  Lack of money and lack of going out of town have been the two biggest factors (we live 45 minutes away from the nearest Walmart).  So I turned to blogger land to try to find something that I could make at home and give to her.  She is turning 20, so nothing old ladyish and she lives with her parents, so she didn’t need any ‘housewares’.  So I found a recipe for some sugar scrub!  Sweet N Spicy Brown Sugar Scrub to be exact! Everybody can use beauty products.  It took just a few ingredients so I whipped it up, made a little label and have it packaged and ready to go!  I also included a ‘coupon’ for a free batch of cupcakes any time her little heart desires, so I’m pretty happy with this gift.  It was inexpensive, but definitely fun and I tried some and it now my hands are sooo soft.  I can’t wait til she opens it!

 Sweet ‘N Spicy Brown Sugar Body Scrub

1 C. white sugar

1 C. brown sugar

3/4 C. vegetable oil

2 tablespoons cinnamon

2 teaspoons nutmeg

2 teaspoons ground ginger

Make sure all the lumps are out of the sugars, add the spices and mix well.  Add the oil and combine until crumbly.  Spoon into container. 

This is what it will look like....

It smells all cinnamon-y, but you definitely smell the nutmeg.  I keep smelling my hands, lol.  This took me literally two minutes to mix up and it made quite a bit.  This recipe is definitely a keeper!!

Leave a Reply

