Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Yummy Sour Cream Quick Rolls

on January 26, 2011

So the other day I went to my mom’s house for lunch (she works nights, so when she has a day off and stays up during the day I always go see her) and she had made these yummy rolls, which don’t look like rolls at all to me, but whatev.  At first I thought that they were cornbread muffins since they were all bumpy and stuff, but they were white, so when I asked her she told me that, no, they were bread and they only took about a minute to whip up!  Well, after tasting them, I was amazed.  From the looks of them, they look like they would be dense and dry, like cornbread, but they are in fact fluffy and yummy, just like a dinner roll.  So of course I had to have the recipe and I thought I’d share it with you!! 

Sour Cream Quick Rolls

1 Cup unsalted butter, softened

1 Cup sour cream

2 Cups self rising flour

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray one muffin pan with cooking spray or fill with muffin liners.

In a large bowl, place butter and sour cream.  Whisk together until well blended. **Whisk in flour just until blended (dough will be thick). 

Place in prepared muffin cups, filling 2/3 full.  Use damp hands to smooth the top.

Back for 13 to 15 minutes, until golden brown.

Before adding flour, can add 1/3 cup shredded cheese or nute, 1 tsp thyme, rosemary, green onions, etc.

See, easy!  And definitely budget friendly.  I think these will definitely be part of our regular dinner rotation!

Leave a Reply

