Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

A Chocolatey Diversion

on January 19, 2011

I totally stole this picture from Susan on the tasty kitchen post

So I found this recipe on tastykitchen.com and was intrigued by the name.  Chocolate Cobbler?!  Whaaaa?  I knew I had to make it and was just looking for the right time (although really, is there a bad time for something chocolatey?!)  I knew the perfect opportunity was when C’s sister MK was staying a few hours with me after school one day.  You see, MK is entertained for about the first 15 minutes she is here at my house then she is ‘bored’.  OK, so I knew I needed to come up with something and with since this looked like such an easy recipe…hello, diversion!  It took all of 3 minutes to whip up (with an 8 year old doing everything) so it wasn’t so much a diversion as a promise of chocolate.  It was soooooooo good!  The recipe sounds really weird, but I promise you…absolutely divine!  Make it.  Like, now.  Thank you Susan Hawkins from Tasty Kitchen….I owe the five pounds that attached itself to my ass from making it so much.

My Granny’s Chocolate Cobbler

1 C all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

7 Tablespoons coca powder, divided

1 1/4 C sugar, divided

1/2 c milk

1/3 c melted butter

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 c light brown sugar, packed

1 1/2 c hot tap water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

First stir together the flour, baking powder, salt, 3 tablespoons of the cocoa, and 3/4 c of the white sugar.  Reserve the remaining sugar and cocoa.

Stir in the milk, melted butter, and vanilla to the flour mixture.  Mix until smooth.

Pour the mixture into an ungreased 8 inch baking dish. 

In a separate small bowl, mix the remaining white sugar, brown sugar and remaining cocoa.  Sprinkle this mixture evenly over the batter. 

Pour the hot tap water over all.  DO NOT STIR!

Bake for about 40 minutes or until the center is set.

**I added some whipped cream to the top of this and then died a thousand deaths it was so good.  Although I would suggest waiting for about 5 minutes for it to cool off as it is liquid fire as soon as it comes out of the oven and if you are so impatient you can’t wait then you will burn the crap out of your tongue and lose feeling in it for a day or two.  Whatev.  It was sooo worth it!  It is also really yummy cold…more of a pudding texture.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

