Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crochet, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Recipe for Candy Apple Jelly

on January 15, 2011

   So I started canning for the first time this past summer.  My dad was giving me bags and bags of zucchini out of his garden every single time I saw him (I’m talking probably 25-30 lbs a bag and I saw him every weekend!)  and I didn’t know what the heck to do with it! I had zucchini coming out of my ears, nose and every other orifice that is not appropriate to mention here!  So I googled some recipes on what I could do with those doggone squash and up came a recipe for Zucchini Bread and Butter pickles (I will post that recipe soon).  I thought, what the hell, may as well give canning a try! 

Turns out I absolutely loved it and have been canning like crazy ever since.  I tried dill zucchini pickles, pickled okra, pickled green beans, some AWESOME peach jalapeno jam and all the jelly recipes I can find.  This recipe for Candy Apple Jelly just sounded delicious and I served it at my Christmas dinner.  I’m not sure where I found the recipe but here it is!

Candy Apple Jelly

4 Cups apple juice                                    1/2 Cup red hot candies

1 (1.75 oz) package powdered pectin          4 1/2 cups sugar

In a large kettle, combine apple juice, candies and pectin.  Bring to a full rolling boil over high heat, stirring constantly.  Stir in sugar, return to a full rolling boil.  Boil for 2 minutes; stirring constantly.  Remove from the heat; skim off any foam and undissolved candies.  Pour hot liquid into hot jars, leaving 1/4 inch headspace.  Adjust caps.  Process for 5 minutes in a boiling water bath.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

