Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Honeysuckle Jelly

on May 10, 2012

Do you know what honeysuckle is?  Growing up, we had a honeysuckle bush in our front yard that we would go out and pick the blooms off of, pulling the little green thing at the bottom and putting it to our mouths so that we could get that sweet little POP of its nectar.  Man, those were the days.  Every time I get a whiff of honeysuckle, it takes me back to that time.  Well it just so happens that we have a HUGE honeysuckle bush growing on/over the fence in our backyard.  It is close enough to our pool that when we are out there swimming, it’s pretty much all that you can smell.  It’s heaven, I tell ya. 

So, obviously, when I saw this recipe on Pinterest, I knew exactly what I would be doing this spring!  Honeysuckle Jelly!  Whaaaa?  I’m not really into things like rose, or lavender, or ‘flowery’ things that you are supposed to eat, but I have been tasting honeysuckle my whole life, so it made sense it would be delicious.  I finally got time to do it this week, but man I wish I had done it earlier.  We had a few bad storms last weekend, so it took a beating and there weren’t as many flowers as there had been.  But there was enough!!  It was actually very relaxing, out there picking and smelling the sweet scent, knowing that I was ‘preserving’ some of that that I could open this winter. 

I loved how this turned out.  It is a super mild flavor, sweet…almost like honey.  But you can definitely taste it- that honeysuckle.  I think next time I would like to decrease the amount of liquid so that it would hopefully be more concentrated.  You don’t use all the liquid anyway.  So I’d say go with 3 cups of liquid if you want a superconcentrated taste.

the honeysuckle ‘tea’

I plan to give these as Christmas gifts this year, with some pretty labels on them.  Maybe some lace around the top, too…that would be pretty.  Let me know if you make this and what you thought!!

3 responses to “Honeysuckle Jelly

  1. Marla Solano says:

    love that little tea dishtowel! where did you find that if you don’t mind me asking?

    • jackatessa says:

      Thanks Marla!! That was actually a wedding gift from my husband’s Granny. She would have used a pattern that she bought somewhere, and she just uses them once and tosses it, so she doesn’t know where she got it, sorry :-(. I LOVE those towels, though!

  2. [...] making my honeysuckle jelly, I had some of the ‘tea’ left over (click here to learn how to make it).  It seemed [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

