Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Olive Oil Pizza Dough

on August 6, 2011

Photo from My Baking Addiction

This is a recipe for a basic pizza dough that I found on My Baking Addiction that is super easy to make and really yummy to eat!  Seriously, it takes less than 5 minutes for it all to come together, and that includes the time it takes to get all the stuff out of the pantry.  It takes two hours to proof, then it’s ready to go.  A lot of times, I will make this on my lunch hour so that it will be ready for me to use as soon as I get home from work.

I like to use my pizza stone that I got as a wedding present to bake my pizzas on, and I like to just flour and roll the dough right onto the stone.  It is Pampered Chef and is WONDERFUL, it gives a nice soft crust and doesn’t burn as easily as it would on a cookie sheet.  But if I want a really crispy crust instead of a thicker, chewy crust, I do like to use a regular cookie sheet, but you just have to watch it a little closer.   I
prebake my crust in a 400 degree oven for about 12 minutes, until it’s getting
a nice golden color to it, then take it out, top it with whatever toppings I
have on hand, then put it back in for another 10-15 minutes until the cheese is melted.  Let it sit on the counter for a few minutes before cutting so that the cheese can set up a little, especially if you have a lot of toppings (which I always do!)

One of the best things about this dough is that you can put it in the fridge and it will keep for up to 12 days. This is nice for me and my family, because we always seem to have a lot of last minute stuff pop up, so our dinner plans need to be flexible.  I
actually think it’s a little easier to work with after the second day, and the crust seems to get a little chewier (in a good way) the longer the dough sits.

You can also use it for a lot more than just pizza!   I’ve done calzones, breadsticks and even dessert pizza.  When I have people over I let everyone either top one big pizza each or a few mini pizzas so they can have a few different kinds.  It always
goes over well because no one gets stuck eating toppings they don’t like and it’s
a fun way to spend time in the kitchen and have everyone help out with the prep
work.

Be sure to check out My Baking Addiction to get the recipe so you can add this great dough to your repertoire and take a look at all her great other recipes!  She is on my blog list that I check everyday because she always has something good.

What do you top your pizzas with?  I will be back with a few of my favorite
variations tomorrow.

2 responses to “Olive Oil Pizza Dough

  1. J. Myers says:

    I will be trying this !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

