Jackatessa's Blog

This is a collection of recipes, canning projects, crafts, cakes, and anything else I find interesting!

Dulce de Leche

on July 26, 2011

Photo from Pennies On a Platter , this is not my photo, mine looked like crapola and hers is gorgeous!

So I had been seeing recipes for Dulce de Leche on Pinterest for a week or so now, and was completely intrigued.  It talked about boiling an unopened can of sweetened condensed milk  in a pot of water until it turned into this yummy caramel-y goodness.  Seriously?!  It’s that easy!?  I knew I was just had to try it, and I even thought it would be a good idea to can it and sell it at the farmer’s markets that I’ve been setting up at on Saturday mornings. 

After some googling though, I found you can’t really can it safely because it’s a milk product. ( But it will keep in the fridge for up to a month, so I figure I can still take it up there in a little cooler! )  There was also a lot of talk about how if you let the pan run out of water, it would BLOW UP!? OMG!  I know that I easily get distracted so that probably would happen to me.  Luckily, while checking my regular blog list yesterday, I came across Pennies on a Platter’s recipe for Dulce de Leche that just involved pouring the sweetened condensed milk into a pie pan, adding a pinch of salt, then covering it with foil and baking it for an hour and fifteen minutes on a jelly roll pan (pan with a ‘lip’) with some water.  That’s more like it!!  No threat of blowing anything up….and only one pot to clean…sweet!

It turned out sooo good!  The first time I thought I had baked it a little long since it was almost a solid, but I actually liked the flavor of it a bit more than the second batch that I baked a little less time, that was still liquid.  Be sure to check out the Pennies on a Platter page, she goes into a little more depth, and MAKE THIS!  It really is super easy and it just turns out soooo good.  I am putting mine in a gift basket I did for a friend to give away and I think the recipient is going to LOVE this ;-)

Let me know how it turns out for you!!

 
3 responses to “Dulce de Leche

  1. I do mine in the crockpot (unopened can) + lots of water overnight…works perfectly. http://coleensrecipes.blogspot.com/2009/10/dulce-de-leche-easiest-method-ever.html

  2. […] so here we go.  I poured some of my Coffeemate French Vanilla Creamer in the bottom, some of the Dulce de Leche I had made and combined it, then filled it to the top with ice and poured my coffee in.  Hmm, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

